#TR25 Twelve Days of Christmas / Day 9

If you’re just hopping to today’s article, please consider going over to yesterday’s overview for a more in-depth view on the franchise!

We will be continuing our overview on the series, so you could gain more clarity on what’s going on, and why are the developers working to unify the Tomb Raider timelines.

First up is the initial trilogy reboot:

Tomb Raider (7) Legend

Tomb Raider Anniversary

Tomb Raider (8) Underworld.

These three games are officially proclaimed as a trilogy by the succeeding developers of Tomb Raider, Crystal Dynamics.

The three games are to be played in the listed above order. The plot ties together as it follows Lara’s journey to find what happened to her mother after they crashed in the Himalayas while Lara was still just a child.

I would like to note here that the title “Tomb Raider Anniversary” isn’t counted by order, as on one hand it is the second game of the trilogy, but on the other it is a reimagining of the original Tomb Raider released back in 1996. It is called ‘Anniversary’ as it was released to commemorate 10 years since the creation of the franchise. Just look at how time flies!

While each game has its own objectives and story, the whole plot revolves under uncovering a deeper mystery than just our heroine’s mother disappearance. Lara gets involved up close and personal with myths and legends that turn out to be more than that, and even crosses paths with a god. But for whom is the misfortune of having crossed these paths, will be unfolded in the third game of the trilogy – Tomb Raider 8 – Underworld.